Women’s team opens 2013 season on the 25th of May

The W-League released its divisional alignment and schedule for 2013, with the action slated to kick off for the 145-game regular season on Saturday, May 11.  The Bay Area Breeze join the 25-team league in 2013, further strengthening the highly competitive Western Conference.

“The 2013 W-League season will produce a tremendous amount of excitement for players and fans alike,” said Amanda Duffy, senior director of the W-League.  “Top collegiate, amateur and professional players will compete in the W-League while aspiring to reach the top level of women’s soccer in North America. The competition will continue to be enhanced by additional regional rivalries as the fight for post-season spots intensifies.”

The W-League remains divided into three geographic conferences – Eastern, Central and Western – with the Eastern Conference featuring two divisions, the seven-team Northeast and the five-team Southeast.  The Central Conference features six teams, while the Western Conference has seven. W-League clubs will play 10- or 12-game schedules in 2013, with teams facing each opponent in their division home and away. Teams in the Central Conference and Southeast Division will play additional games vs. geographic rivals to complete their schedules.

The Dayton Dutch Lions will be competing in the Southeast Division of the Eastern Conference, facing the Atlanta Silverbacks, the Carolina Elite Cobras, the Charlotte Lady Eagles and VSI Tampa Bay FC.

The Dayton Dutch Lions Women’s team will play their first official 2013 W-League game Saturday, May 25 as the Charlotte lady eagles travel to Dayton. Four more home games, two being double headers with the Men’s team (June 28 and July 14) and 3 trips away from home consisting of 5 away games will follow.

The final weekend of the regular season is set for July 12-14, with VSI Tampa Bay traveling to Dayton to face the Lady Lions.

To see the full 2013 W-league schedule, for the Dayton Dutch Lions, please click here.

The 19th W-League season will see 10 teams advance to the postseason with one champion advancing from each conference to the 2013 W-League Championship presented by Nike. The three conference champions will meet July 26-28 in a ‘final four’ format championship, which will also include a yet-to-be-determined host team. The semifinals will be played on Friday, July 26 with the winners meeting for the 2013 W-League Championship on Sunday, July 28.

The W-League is recognized throughout the world for providing superior competition for female players, while offering affordable family entertainment for fans across North America. The caliber of W-League talent continues to grow, with 22 of the 29 players recently called into the U.S. Women’s National Team camp boasting W-League experience.

For more information about the USL W-League please click here.

Season and game tickets are for sale on our website.


This story was posted in Dayton Dutch Lions FC, Women. Bookmark the permalink.
  • DDL Soccer Complex

    DDL Soccer Complex

    All practices and games of the Dayton Dutch Lions FC Men’s team (USL PDL) and Women’s team (USL WPSL) will be at the Dayton Dutch Lions FC Soccer Complex in West Carrollton. The stadium seats 3500 people. In 2014 the Dayton Dutch Lions FC and Dayton Outpatient Center (DOC) installed an new artificial turf field in the stadium. DOC Stadium was opened in May 2014 when former 2x “FIFA Best Player in the World” Ruud Gullit kicked off the game against LA Galaxy II in the USL PRO League.


    The address is: 5833 Student St., West Carrollton, Ohio, 45449

  • Tickets

  • Dutch Lions TV

    Dutch Lions TV
  • Oranje Legion

    Oranje Legion